Home > My Life With Rheumatoid Arthritis > You think you know, but you have no idea

You think you know, but you have no idea

I was helping out a friend today and the rainy cold weather started to take its toll on me. I started to feel tension in my neck, pain in my legs, you know how it works. The tired feeling came over me and I slowly started to shut down. She asked what was going on and I mentioned I was starting to feel ill from the weather. Once I told her this she stated she noticed I wasn’t my usual perky self and thought something was wrong, which did not bother me in any manner. Then about 20 minutes of me being quiet and reserved, which happens when I don’t feel well, she asked if I was upset about a guy? Which threw me off, but I had to understand that she was only communicating that she did not understand what I have been telling her about my illness. It also helped me understand what people see on the days I don’t feel well. As much as I try to shield others from seeing this side of me, I can’t, it will come through. Which is why forums like this are important. Individuals with a chronic illness will have days when the pain will come out of nowhere and takeover. Its not about being sad, its just about coping. In my next conversation with her, I will do my best to explain to her more about my illness, I will use this opportunity to continue to educate. I hope others will do the same.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

