Home > My Bio > Who is this?

Who is this?

Main Imge

I am a young women who has had the pleasure of living Rheumatoid Arthritis for the past 10 years. Before the onset of my illness, I was living a fabulous life, working a fast pace job with huge advancement opportunities, married, dressing in sassy outfits, sexy shoes and doing whatever I wanted, when I wanted. My favorite pass time was shopping, hanging out with the girls and getting out enjoying life. Then it hit me, and over the years it hit harder and harder. Eventually, I was no longer on my own time, I was on my body’s time. The outfits became less sassy and the shoes were nowhere near sexy..lol I had to stop working, more and more of my income had to go to medication/treatments, and the bed became a big part of my life.

These changes were devastating to my ego, self-esteem and overall sense of self. I have had many ups and downs in regards to my health, and I work hard to maintain a positive attitude and great spirit, but it is not easy. I hear “You are too young to have Arthritis” and “You don’t look sick” at least 3 times a month and cringe every time I hear these comments. I have spent years in denial about my illness and the impact it has had on my every day life, not just from a work aspect, but friendships, family and dating relationships. I spent more time trying to pretend I am not sick to protect others feelings than I did worrying about my own feelings, which I recently learned does not work. I am learning to accept my illness, but I just refuse to give up being fabulous. Yes I am sick and Yes I am Fabulous!

As part of accepting my illness I tried to seek out others in my situation, I checked out support groups and online forums, however I found it challenging to find people I could identify with. People who are vibrant and fabulous but just happen to be sick. So I made the decision to start my own forum to discuss things such as health, comfortable clothing, sexy but still comfortable shoes, savings and sales events, dating/relationships and how to maintain a positive outlook on life. I am learning more and more each day about accepting my illness and learning how to enjoy my life as much as possible. I take this journey called life with my partner (Rheumatoid Arthritis) day by day.

I want this page to be a place where I can share my experiences with others and network with those in a similar situation. A place where we can learn from each other on coping mechanisms, how to communicate to others about your illness, fabulous items that make life easier, health tips, health news and how to enjoy life. How to still be fabulous when you just happen to be sick.

Categories: My Bio
  1. khadedra
    March 13, 2011 at 8:15 am

    I too have RA and I’m also African American. I was diagnosed with it about 3yrs ago, and its has been life changing as well as challenging. I have connected with others on the RA website as well as the RA page on FBook. I’m really happy to see that you started your own forum and I’ve read through some things and found your site to be very imformative and I can totally relate. Just as you hear “you don’t look sick” I hear it as well and it does make me a little angry. I feel just because I choose to still try and look healthy on the outside, doesn’t mean that on the inside everything looks good. I don’t want to be sick nor do I want to look sick for that matter, so I take the time out to do my hair, and makeup and dress decent. I’m only 36yrs, but my body is functioning as if I’m 70 or 80. I currently still work, but I do have to take alot of days off because of flares and mobility issues. Well I look forward to reading more, and I hope with spring just around the corner and summer coming you will have more PAIN-FREE DAYS!!! 😉

    • March 15, 2011 at 5:58 am

      Hi Khadedra, Great to hear from you and glad you found my site informative. I don’t think I will ever get use to the “You don’t look sick” comment. Like you, I like to try to look my best, especially on my better days. For me wearing make-up and keeping my hair nice just helps in making me feel better. I say whatever you have to do to keep yourself feeling like your Fabulous Self, I say Do it!!
      Thanks for the well wishes, right back at you and I hope you have many more fabulous, flare free days..(((PAIN-FREE HUG)))

  2. Mardi
    March 23, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    I can’t tell you how nice it was today to discover your blog today! I have RA of the spine (ankylosing spondylitis)–that has affected many peripheral joints now too. I too love to be fabulous!–which sure is a hard thing to find in the support communities. I say it is my way of thumbing my nose at this terrible disease 🙂 and I certainly feel more like having my head in the fight. It’s not going to take that away from me and I was thrilled to find your blog, and I’m excited about reading further through your posts.

    I help myself be happy, and feel like my former self, by taking enjoyment from being fabulous! I love the happy optimism of your approach–and is refreshing among support groups. They are important too, of course–but I can’t help but feel as much discouraged as encouraged, after reading through them.

    Thank you for creating a viewpoint and place to share that it is okay (and the best medicine of all) to be FABULOUS while being sick!

    Please keep your blog posts coming…I’m starved.

    • March 27, 2011 at 3:14 am

      Hello Mardi and Welcome. I am glad you like the site. I am glad to hear you are keeping your head in the fight against RA and I send you positive thoughts on winning your battle.
      Yes, optimism is an approach I have taken because it is my therapy. On my good days, I like making the effort to look Good and Fabulous, because it just makes me feel like I am back to my old self. 😉
      Please check back as often as you like or subscribe to the site to get the automatic updates. And again, Welcome

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

