Home > My Life With Rheumatoid Arthritis > Relationships and Rheumatoid Arthritis w/Break-Ups

Relationships and Rheumatoid Arthritis w/Break-Ups

 

Lets face it, break-ups are hard, on both guys and girls. However, I have come to believe they are even harder on people dealing with an Auto Immune Disease. Why, because we tend to have a sensitive/guilty view of things. Also, in our mind, we will always wonder how and if our illness played a role in the demise of the relationship. No matter what the person says, we will always wonder if the person would have stayed if I didn’t have Rheumatoid Arthritis, if it didn’t take me 20 minutes to get out the bed, if I didn’t get sad when I get bad reports from my doctor, if I didn’t need help getting out of the tub when humidity kicks in.  All these “Ifs” play over and over in our head when dealing with a break-up. But the truth of the matter is, we will never truly know, unless the person tells us and even then, will we truly believe them??

Truth of the matter, why keep wondering “If”, it just drives you crazy, and more than likely the other person is not spending their time wondering “If” so why should you.  I have been reading this great book “It’s a Break-Up, not a Breakdown” by Lisa Steadman, and one thing she recommends when wondering about your “Ifs”, why not write down the things that make you fabulous. Even though the book is not about dealing with a life long illness, I think we more so need to do this exercise, even when we are not going through a break-up.  I loved the idea so much, I decided to write down what makes me fabulous and post it on my bathroom mirror. In hopes of helping me focus on my fabulousness instead of focusing on what makes me sick. Besides, I think about what makes me sick way too much, it is much more fun to think about what makes me Fabulous.

10 Things that make me Fabulous

  1. Great pair of legs, scars and all
  2. Not afraid to speak in front of an audience
  3. Compassionate, Kind Hearted and Loving
  4. Gorgeous Hair
  5. Great Sense of Humor
  6. Always up to try new things
  7. Great Sense of Style
  8. Well Read and Educated
  9. Independent
  10. Spiritual

What are the 10 things that make you Fabulous? Post them here and Post them up to help remind you of how fabulous you are on a daily basis.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

